Ms.G’s Asian restaurant in Potts Point, Sydney

I had heard so many good things about Ms. G’s and its head chef Dan Wong. Recently, I finally found an excuse to try it!

What is Ms. G’s?
Ms. G’s is run by head chefs Dan Wong and Patrick Friesen, who both re-invent dishes into brash new creations inspired by Asian ingredients and tastes. The brashness continues into the decor of the restaurant, which in my opinion was an eclectic mix of grungy bar, hip Tokyo and rainforest.

My pedestrian thoughts
We ordered the pork belly banh mi and snow crab betel leaf as entrees. The betel leaf when mixed with the snow crab brought a refreshing burst of clean flavour and freshness. The banh mi was also nice but I would have liked to have the pork belly more melt in your mouth-y. Don’t get me wrong, it was still good, especially that sauce.

Mini bánh mì- crisp pork belly and Snow crab betel leaf with yuzu miso ranch

For mains, we ordered the stir fried rice cakes, pork, prawn, chilli and the curry with cod fish. We were warned beforehand that the sauce for the stir fried fish cakes would be quite salty, and they weren’t kidding. It was not my cup of tea, but we were warned.

Fish Curry

Fish Curry

On the other hand, the curry cod fish was really well done. It held firmly in the curry sauce which was great. My tip: you must mix into your plain rice the curry sauce because it was just that good. Also, whatever the herbs were on top of the dish, they were good too. Loved it.

More information
Ms.G’s is located at 155 Victoria Street, Potts Point. It’s a short 5 minute walk from Kings Cross station. I found its location somewhat inconspicuous. Make sure not to walk past it as I did. For me, the black terrace camouflaged right into the street.

Check out its webpage, and read more reviews here on Eatability.

Thanks for reading my pedestrian thoughts. Leave a comment below and let us know what your thoughts are on Eatability.

