don’t forget daylight savings 2010 ends

Daylight savings will end in New South Wales, Victoria, Tasmania, South Australia and the Australian Capital Territory on Sunday 4 April 2010 at 3am. At this time, remember to shift clocks back one hour.

Did you know that daylight savings is governed by legislation in New South Wales called the Standard Time Act 1987. Subsection 3(1) states that “standard time” in New South Wales (except for Broken Hill and Lord Howe Island) is 10 hours ahead of co-ordinated universal time and “daylight savings time” is one hour ahead of that.

For our purposes, section 2A specifies that the “summer time period” is “a period starting at 2 am on the first Sunday in October in each year and ending at 2 am on the first Sunday in the following April” or as otherwise specified in the Regulations.

The implication is that sunrise and sunset will be earlier by one hour. Sydney’s sunrise and sunset times will become 6:09am and 5:47pm respectively after returning to standard time on April 4. On the winter solstice (June 21), the sun will rise at 7:00am and set at 4:54pm.

When it is midday (standard time) in Sydney, the times in the rest of the world are:

  • Tokyo: 11am
  • Hong Kong: 10am
  • London: 3am
  • Paris: 4am
  • New York: 10pm -1
  • Los Angeles: 7pm -1

Debate continues around the world as to the legitimacy of using daylight savings as an energy saving strategy during the summer months. In theory, this is achieved due to increased sunlight reducing the need to use electricity for lighting until later in the night. Many surveys conducted around the world have doubted the effectiveness of the daylight savings concept in saving energy use, citing it has only a minimal impact, if any.

Aside from this I believe that daylight savings provides a far greater social impact than just conserving energy use. It facilitates increased social activity whether it be promoting after-school sports for children, or providing for a greater variety of outdoor entertainment and activity. Thus I consider its social effect as far more profound.

At the very least when leaving the office in summer the sun is there to welcome you, but maybe not if you finish past 8pm. However, in winter, the sun will set for hours before we leave work. Now isn’t that something to look forward to (along with the cold weather)?

For those that will miss the sunny nights, don’t worry, it will be back very soon. Daylight savings will start again in New South Wales on 3 October 2010, and summer will be back later this year.

Advertisements

2 responses to “don’t forget daylight savings 2010 ends

  1. Is there a benism fan or like icon, cause this is another great post! Thanks for the heads up.

Let us know what you think...

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s